Maxwell’s House

2010 – Shawn Maxwell Quartet

“Shawn Maxwell Quartet: a hard-swinging, deep in the pocket release.”
– Matthew Warnock,

“an extremely rewarding modern take on the edgy, modal hard bop of the 1960s with something extra for the 21st century.”
– Hrayr Attarian, Chicago Jazz Magazine

“The tricky interplay between horn, piano and drums on the snappy ‘Shuffled’ will wake you up like an iced expresso, while Nelson’s work on ‘Sector 7-G’ foams like a cappuccino. Maxwell’s House brims with delight – good till the last drop.”
– George W. Harris,

“Maxwell’s growth as a player is breathtaking – his Kenny Garrett-inspired tone and long lines a fresh change from the usual alto player’s approach to burn at all times and leave no space… Nelson, of course, is becoming one of Chicago’s most in-demand pianists and it is clear why here again as he proves the perfect foil for Maxwell. The compositions are grounded in the traditional, yet spiked with plenty of surprising shifts and interesting elements and evidence of Maxwell’s confidence and maturity… By following his own way, Maxwell has created another album of importance based on his originality and sense of purpose.”
– Brad Walseth,

Album Information


Shawn Maxwell: alto saxophone

Matt Nelson: piano

Kevin Martinez: double bass

Brandon Dickert: drums

Recording Credits

Recorded 9/20 and 9/27/2009 at Studio Media.

Produced and engineered by Nick Eipers.

Track List
  1. Maxwell's House5:55
  2. Shuffled7:27
  3. Five8:34
  4. Jathor6:14
  5. Ava7:08
  6. If Only5:00
  7. Welcome8:47
  8. Sector 7-G7:48
  9. Different Colors of Cool6:19
  10. Dangerous Curve5:44